A Rose is a Rose is a Rose


I’m really excited about this project. For the longest time, I’ve been collecting yarn in all shades of red and pink, with the idea of eventually making a rose afghan for my mom. I’ve looked and looked for rose motif patterns in crochet, but have never really found what I wanted. I realized that it’s because what I want is more of a free-form look,. rather than an “equilateral” design (is there a better word than equilateral? Mirror-image? You get the drift). I actually found one pattern that I liked a lot… and made this motif:

Rose granny square

Flat Rose Granny Square. You can buy this pattern from Nicole Rodgers for just $1. Isn’t it pretty?

While I really love the way this looks, and will definitely use it for a different project (Maybe a handbag or purse? Any other ideas?) it is still not the free-form look of a rose that I really wanted. So… I decided to try out my skills on making up my own design. I had tried this awhile back after I first learned to crochet, but it was a bit disastrous. Too bad I frogged the result, or I’d show you here. Anyway, I guess I’ve gotten better, because I really like what I’ve come up with so far:

Free-form rose motif by Karen Brimhall

Free-form rose motif—the big ones are 9 inches across, and the small one is 6 inches.

Free-form rose motif in two sizes

Free-form rose motif in two sizes

Large (9=inch) crochet free-form rose motif by Karen Brimhall

Large (9-inch) crochet free-form rose motif

Medium (6-inch) crochet free-form rose motif by Karen Brimhall

Medium (6-inch) crochet free-form rose motif

3 Comments

  1. I really like the free-form rose motifs that you’re working on. They have a very organic feel. I am intrigued to see how you assemble them. Fun!

    Thank you so much for your comment on my blog. I really appreciate having a kindred spirit out there who understands.

    BTW, I’m on a motif kick lately too!

    • Thanks! I’m looking forward to see how I assemble them as well! hehe. We’ll seee… Thanks again.

  2. This is such an original idea! Most patterns are obsessive about symmetry. I’m so interested to see where you go with it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

